Need help or advice? Contact Us
Lines are open Monday to Friday. Opening times vary.

Fellow of the BHS, Yogi Breisner, received the President’s Award; the award recognises those who give exceptional service to the charity over a period of years. Yogi, the former British Eventing Team Performance Manager, supported the BHS’ Education Department in the launch of its BHS Equine Excellence Pathway.

The Tarquin Trophy was awarded to Greater Manchester Police for their outstanding contribution to increasing road safety for horses and riders. They have supported the BHS in spreading word of the BHS’ Dead Slow campaign, and they have shared their best practice with other police forces.

Canewdon’s Equestrians Group from Essex was presented with the BHS’s Safety Award for their campaign to lobby for rider safety. They were formed after rider Laura Thoroughgood and her horse Angel were hit by a car whilst riding on the road. Laura was injured, and her horse Angel tragically died as a result of her injuries. The group have worked with the BHS to promote the charity’s Dead Slow campaign, appearing with the BHS on BBC Breakfast and BBC Radio 2’s Jeremy Vine Show.

BHS volunteers and local Committee members were also recognised for dedicating their time and expertise. This included 15 long service awards of between 25 and 40 years.

Other award winners included broadcaster Lizzie Greenwood-Hughes who has been extremely supportive of the BHS’ safety work, acting as an ambassador for the BHS’ Ride Safe Award.

BHS President, Martin Clunes, speaking at the event, said: “It’s always nice to meet the people who do so much for The British Horse Society; one of the best things about being the President is being able to meet these remarkable people that dedicate so of their time.”

A full list of this year’s winners is available on the BHS website